Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  03:54
New York  15:54
Mumbai  01:24
Jerusalem  21:54
Brussels  20:54
Moscow  23:54

About India

 

INDIA
  Enlarge
 Indian Flag

India, as the seventh largest country in the world in terms of territory and the second most populated, is a “third world” country considerably lacking in infrastructure.

The rapid growth of the Indian economy has created a middle class and a significant rise in private consumption and the standard of living. These have lead to huge capital investments on the part of foreign investors.

India’s rapid growth can be attributed mainly to the service sector, which currently constitutes about half of the Indian economy. The Information Technology revolution has led to considerable investment in service and development centers in the country, and to the training of millions of Indian workers in the area of software services.

India at a Glance

Airports: Ahmedabad, Chennai, Goa, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi

Capital: New Delhi

Cities (Major): Goa; Hyderabad; Jaipur; Mumbai; New Delhi; Surat

Currency: Indian Rupee

Diamond Exchange: Bharat Diamond Bourse

Diamond Financing Banks: Of some 60 banks dealing in diamond industry financing, the three largest banks are: Bank of Baroda; Royal Bank of Scotland (formerly ABN AMRO); State Bank of India

Diamond Trading and Manufacturing Centers: Mumbai (in the ‘Opera House’ quarter), New Delhi and Surat.

Electric Current: V230, Hz50

Internet Ending: in

Languages: Hindi and 21 official languages

Jewelry and Gemstones Manufacturing Center: Jaipur

Public Holidays: Republic Day; Good Friday; Ram Navami;  Mahavir Jayanti; Indian Independence Day;  Gandhi's birthday; Dusserhra; Diwali; Govardhan Puja; Guru Nanak's birthday; Idu'l Zuha-Bakrid

Time Zone: GMT + 5:30 hours

Telephone code: + 91; New Delhi +11; Mumbai +22 

Weather: From April to September the north enjoys springlike weather while the south is hotter, and from October to February, the weather is more pleasant in the south while the north is usually cold and snowy.

Diamond - india
  Enlarge
 India's Taj Mahal

 

Useful Websites

Economic Mission of Israel in India

Embassy of Israel in New Delhi

Indian Embassy in Israel
Israel Asia Center


More about About India:
Financial Overview
The Jewish Guide

Back  
 
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?
South America North America Europe Asia Africa Australia