Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  23:49
New York  11:49
Mumbai  21:19
Jerusalem  17:49
Brussels  16:49
Moscow  19:49
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Alrosa’s Diamond Sales up 60% in January 2017

/ World

Diamond
Alrosa Enlarge
A 214.65-carat rough diamond
Giant Russian miner Alrosa has announced sales results for January 2017. According to a press release, rough diamond sales amounted to $358.2 million, while polished diamond sales for the same period amounted to $7.28 million.

Total diamond sales in January 2017 amounted to $365.4 million - an increase of 60% compared to the same period last year.

Alrosa Vice president Yury Okoemov said: “The first month of the year has expectedly demonstrated effective demand for rough diamonds in almost all market segments. The diamond cutting sector in India obviously copes with the problems caused by the currency reform in this country somewhat faster than expected. We still remain cautiously optimistic about the activity in the small-size, low-cost rough diamond segment”.

Last week, Alrosa published its official 2016 diamond production and sales report. According to the Russian miner, it produced 37.4 million carats during 2016 - down 2% year-on-year. As for sales and revenue, Alrosa sold 40.1 million carats of diamonds in 2016. Revenue from rough diamond sales is set to reach at least $4.3 billion.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?