Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  01:45
New York  13:45
Mumbai  23:15
Jerusalem  19:45
Brussels  19:45
Moscow  21:45

WikiDiamond

The Rarest of Them All: Blue Diamonds

 

 

Diamond
Sotheby’s  Enlarge
The Shirley Temple Blue Diamond A 9.54-carat Fancy Deep Blue, Potentially Internally Flawless, VVS2 clarity diamond ring

Of all the naturally colored diamonds, blue diamonds are among the rarest. Their color is caused by the presence of boron impurities and according to the GIA, the more boron - the deeper the blue.

Blue diamonds are highly coveted, and some blues have fetched staggeringly high prices at auctions in recent years. For instance, In April 2016, a 10.10 carat oval-shaped fancy vivid blue diamond broke all auction records in Asia when it was sold by Sotheby’s for $31.8 million.

In August 2014, an exceptionally rare blue diamond, called the 'Blue Moon', surprised even the curator of the National Gem and Mineral Collection at Washington, D.C.'s Smithsonian Institution, when under ultra-violet light, it emitted an orangey-red phosphorescent glow for about 20 seconds. Usually, a blue diamond will glow in a blue-green color for less time, but the “Blue Moon” showed its purity being un-muddled by the presence of grey or other hues. The 29.62-carat stone was discovered at South Africa's Cullinan mine and bought by Cora International, who had it cut and polished.

In the first quarter of 2016, fancy blue diamond prices rose by 1.7% - the highest increase among naturally colored diamonds. The strongest performing price categories were fancy intense blue and fancy vivid blue across all carat sizes.

[Suggest changes/additions]
Search Value:
 
     
 
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?